The Union of Journalists of Armenia (UJA) is a creative non-governmental organization, which connects professionals in press, TV, radio, media agencies, publishing houses irrespective of their party affiliation or political views.

It was established on March 27, 1959. The House of Journalists was opened on June 1, 1978.

UJA is a member of International Federation of Journalists (IFJ)/ European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) (since 2007) and International Confederation of Journalists’ Unions.

UJA purpose is to promote development of pluralism, reform of media legislation, strengthen the Constitutional right of the freedom of speech in Armenia. The Union defends journalists’ right to freedom of speech and information accessibility.

UJA supports enlargement and strengthening of ties between Armenian and foreign media outlets and journalists.

UJA contributes to rising professionalism of media representatives through seminars, trainings and conferences.

UJA takes active steps toward protection of labour rights of media representatives.

The supreme governing body is the Congress of the Union of Journalists of Armenia (the first one took place in 1959).

UJA has granted Golden Pen Prize for best publicist articles since 1969 (it’s launched once in 3 years).

Astghik Gevorgyan was UJA president from 1992 to 2017.

Satik Seyranyan was elected as UJA president from December 28, 2017.